Always In Motion

Ontario successful at World Championships

Joey Desjardins and Shelley Gautier Capture Medals at UCI Para Road World Championships

Shelley Gautier has been no stranger to the podium over her incredible career, and she added to that total by winning a bronze medal on home soil in the T1 Time Trial. This result was followed up a few days later in the Men’s H3 Road Race, where Joey Desjardins won his first World Championship medal by placing third. Congratulations to all our athletes on outstanding performances.

Toronto, ON

Morpeth, ON

Hawkesbury, ON

Carson Mattern Captures Two World Titles at UCI Junior Track World Championships

Ontario athletes comprised 8 of the ten members of Canada’s Junior Track World Championship Team in Tel Aviv this past August. 2021 scratch race world champion, Carson Mattern, returned to the event hoping to repeat some of the success he had in Egypt the year prior. It is safe to say that what Carson achieved was simply incredible. First, by capturing the world title in the individual pursuit, in what had to be one of the closest IP finals you will ever see, and then following it up a few days later with a second world title in the Omnium. Congratulations to Carson and all the athletes who proudly represented Ontario and Canada.

Oakville, ON

Peterborough, ON

Mississauga, ON

Guelph, ON

Ancaster, ON

Hamilton, ON

Waterloo, ON

Peterborough, ON

Ontario Well Represented at UCI MTB World Championships

Ontario athletes made up 50% of the XCO athletes representing Team Canada athletes at the UCI MTB World Championships in Les Gets, France. Several Ontario athletes had strong performances, including Emily Batty finishing 19th in the Elite Women and Gunnar Holmgren, placing 49th in the Elite Men. The Junior Women’s race saw both Holmgren sisters placing in the top 20, with Isabella 10th and Ava 18th [both first-year juniors]. In the Men’s U23, Owen Clark was the top Ontario finisher at 31st.

Isabella Holmgren – Orillia, ON
Ava Holmgren – Orillia, ON
Ellie Clark – Mono, ON

Ian Ackert – Severn, ON
Alexander Woodford – Ottawa, ON

Jocelyn Stel – Burlington, ON

Owen Clark – Mono, ON
Noah Ramsay – Toronto, ON
Cole Punchard – Huntsville, ON

Emily Batty – Brooklin, ON
Jennifer Jackson – Oro Medonte, ON

Peter Disera – Horseshoe Valley, ON
Quinton Disera – Horseshoe Valley, ON
Tyler Orschel – Uxbridge, ON
Gunnar Holmgren – Orillia, ON