Always In Motion

Ontario Cyclist with success at 2023 National Championships

Ontario cyclists had a successful showing at the National Championships over the weekend. With numerous podium performances, Ontario athletes displayed the impact of having access to a world class velodrome.  Many of the elite athletes were only 11 years old when the velodrome first opened and it has been exciting to watch athletes learn to ride the track, develop through club and provincial programs, and now be capturing national championship medals (and international medals).  

Photo by: Rob Jones / Canadian Cyclist

Photo by: Rob Jones / Canadian Cyclist

Ontario Team Canada Athletes Battle for Top Spot

In the Elite Men category, James Hedgcock (Team Ontario) defended his 2022 title in the Keirin and the team sprint with his Team Ontario teammates Tyler Rorke and Nick Wammes.  On the endurance side, Dylan Bibic (Israel-Premier Tech) took home the titles in the scratch race, omnium and the Madison but finished second to fellow Ontario rider Michael Foley (Toronto Hustle) who took the top step in the individual pursuit.  

In the Women’s Team Sprint, Jackie Boyle secured the title with her Team (Lauriane Genest, Sarah Orban & Emy Savard). Kiara Lylyk (Cyclery Racing), Ruby West (Jukebox Factory) and Kaitlyn Rauwerda (DNA Pro Cycling) won the bronze medal in Elite Women Madison and the Elite Omnium. 

Master Rider Strike Gold

Rosa Phillip (Midweek Cycling Club) showed an outstanding performance by winning the Time Trial, Points Race, Scratch Race, Individual Pursuit, Sprint, and Keirin events in Master A. Female Master B rider Amy Maher even broke the Canadian record in the Time Trial and the Team Pursuit (Elaine Soucy, Amy White, Lisa Ulrich) and the Team Sprint (Soucy, Ulrich). The record that Amy and the team put in place a few years ago.  

Amongst the Master males, Tim Hadfield made the most considerable efforts and claimed the Master B titles in the points race, scratch race and individual pursuit. In addition, he and his team (Scott Bischlen, David Hainish and William Trischuk) claimed the team pursuit title.  

The list of Ontario podiums from the Canadian Track Championships (Elite/Masters) can be found below, and the full list is available here. The next big competition on the national level will be the 2023 Canadian Virtual Championships on Feb. 11 – 12. 

U17, Junior and para track athletes will compete for the championship title in their respective disciplines/categories from March 31 – April 2.  

Photo by: Rob Jones / Canadian Cyclist

  • Gold: James Hedgecock (Team Ontario)
  • Bronze: Dylan Bibic (Israel Cycling Academy)
  • Gold: James Hedgecock (Team Ontario)
  • Silver: Nick Wammes (Team Ontario)
  • Bronze: Tyler Rorke (KW Cycling Academy)
  • Gold – James Hedgcock (Team Ontario)
  • Silver – Tyler Rorke (KW Cycling Academy)
  • Bronze – Nick Wammes (Team Ontario)
  • Gold: Michael Foley (Toronto Hustle)
  • Silver: Dylan Bibic (Israel Cycling Academy)
  • Bronze: Carson Mattern (Israel Cycling Academy)
  • Bronze: Ruby West (Jukebox Factory)
  • Gold: Dylan Bibic (Israel Cycling Academy)
  • Silver: Michael Foley (Toronto Hustle)
  • Bronze: Chris Ernst (Toronto Hustle)
  • Bronze: Kiara Lylyk (Cyclery Racing)
  • Gold: Dylan Bibic (Israel Premier Tech)
  • Silver: Chris Ernst (Toronto Hustle)

Bronze: Kiara Lylyk & Kaitlyn Rauwerda (DNA Pro Cycling)

  • Gold: Dylan Bibic (Israel Cycling Academy)
  • Bronze: Michael Foley (Toronto Hustle)
  • Bronze: Kiara Lylyk (Cyclery Racing)