Always In Motion

30th Annual Paris to Ancaster Bicycle Race

The 30th annual Paris to Ancaster Bicycle Race (P2A) concluded on Sunday afternoon. Over 2600 individuals, including numerous participants from throughout Canada and the United States, participated in this annual challenging event. Cyclists competed across 3 different distances: the Breve (45 km), Classic (70 km) and Cento (115 km). Reigning Women’s Canadian Gravel Champion, Devon Clarke, was the first female rider to cross the line, defending her P2A victory from 2023. American Lane Maher finished first among males, narrowly edging out reigning Men’s Canadian Gravel Champion Evan Russell (2nd) and Ashlin Barry (3rd), who himself was coming off a victory in last weekend’s Henderson Classic Road OCup.
The P2A Classic race was won by Ottawa Bicycle Club’s Carter Deveer, and Collingwood Collective’s Julia Lehmann who captured the top Male and Female spots respectively, while Independent rider Steve Himmelman and Peterborough Cycling Club’s Kathy Eggenberger rode to victory in the 45km Breve event. 
Whether athletes began their days at the Paris Fairgrounds, Waynco Aggregates or the Gaukel Memorial Community Centre, all athletes crossed the same finish line and cycled through identical conditions of periodic rain and lots of mud. But the threat of flat tires, broken derailleurs or worn-out brake pads wasn’t enough to dampen spirits. Congratulations to all who braved the elements and finished the 30th Paris to Ancaster Event!
A special thank you to all who helped organize the event. The crew of over 100 people, many of who are volunteers, worked hard to provide a fantastic experience for the riders. Ontario Cycling (OC) is proud to sanction events that bring our community closer together and leave lasting impressions on all who participate.
OC participated in the vendor expo on Saturday and offered a membership raffle. Any non-members who signed-up for our newsletter, were entered to win 1 of 2 Community Memberships (or equivalent $ value credit to apply to another OC membership). In addition, all who stopped by and signed-up (members and non-members) were entered into a draw to win a free entry to the 2024 OC Provincial Championship of their choosing. 
We are happy to announce the winners of both draws below – Congratulations!:

Community Membership Winners:

Craig Cole

Katie Combaluzier

Free Provincial Championships Entry:

Khalil Tito