Always In Motion

Ontario Cycling is proud to announce Team Ontario for the 2023 Canadian Road Championships in Edmonton, AB.

Provincial Coach David Jack will be leading the U19 Men and Women teams. He shared his excitement for the racing to begin – “Ontario athletes have performed well so far this season, both locally and internationally. I’m looking forward to see what the team can do next week in Edmonton.” 

The Women’s team will have a strong showing with Larissa Pederson, Anika Brants, and Vanessa Montrichard all coming off a very successful track season. The Men’s team is equally strong with Albert Taylor, Jayden McMullen, Ethan Powell, and Ian Ackert. Both U19 teams are comprised of multi-discipline talent with five of the seven athletes having represented Canada internationally in either Track, MTB, CX, or Road in the past year.

Para-Cycling Team

Ontario will have one of its largest Para-Cycling Teams this year with seven athletes from across the province ready and excited to race in Edmonton. Supporting these athletes is Coach Julia Farell. “Julia is a passionate coach with extensive experience running Team Ontario projects, including the 2022 Canada Summer Games in Niagara alongside Coach David Jack. Ontario Cycling is very excited to have Julia leading our para team at Nationals this year. Her ability to communicate effectively and adapt to the needs of each athlete is outstanding and will provide our Para-Cyclists with the positive support and team energy this project needs.”  shared Amber Hutchinson (OC Technical Lead). 


U19 Women

  • Larissa Pedersen // KW Cycling Academy
  • Anika Brants // Attack Racing
  • Vanessa Montrichard // Team Valley Velo

U19 Men

  • Albert Taylor // KW Cycling Academy
  • Jayden McMullen // KW Cycling Academy
  • Ethan Powell // KW Cycling Academy
  • Ian Ackert // Stimulus Orbea Racing Team

Para-Cyclists Women

  • Shelley Gautier // Independent

Para-Cyclists Men

  • Joey Desjardins // Handcycling Club of Canada
  • Kevin Mckenna // Independent
  • Michael Trauner // Para-Cycling.Org
  • Martin Duif // Para-Cycling.Org
  • Lachlan Hotchkiss // Para-Cycling.Org
  • Adam Dixon // Independent

Team Staff

  • David Jack – U19 Lead Coach
  • Julia Farell – Para-Cycling Lead Coach
  •  Trevor Simpson – Team Mechanic