Always In Motion

Ontario Cycling Announces 2023 Annual Award Recipients

Each year, Ontario Cycling recognizes the top athletes in each discipline and the community leaders who have demonstrated their commitment to enhancing the cycling experience.

Athlete of the Year Awards are based on the eligible nominee having competed in both Nationally and Internationally sanctioned events in the discipline of the award, while also having achieved significant results and demonstrating strong character, integrity and leadership.

Previous award recipients include Olympians Annie Foreman-Mackey, Emily Batty, Haley Smith, Joseph Veloce, and Michael Foley, amongst many others.

2023 Recognition Awards

OC also acknowledges the incredible sacrifices and dedication that some individuals put into further advancing the sport in the province. Without the tireless efforts of these individuals, cycling would not be where it is today.

2023 Commissaire of the Year and Volunteer of the Year award recipients

Commissaire of the Year
Bradley Day
(Lead Road Commissaire)

Volunteer of the Year
Sandra Fletcher
(Founder Saddle Sisters of High Park)

OC would also like to give honorable mention to Julie Hutsebaut for her efforts within the sport of cycling. Julie has helped at numerous clubs including the Ottawa Women’s Cycling Club, lending her coaching expertise to both cyclists and para-cyclists. She has been highly praised for her ability to not only help new cyclists learn technical skills, but also help build their confidence when making the leap into group riding for the first time.


Finally, OC is proud to announce this year’s 2023 Ryan Victor Griffin award recipient. The award recognizes a Mountain Bike athlete under 19 years old who has demonstrated all the characteristics that Ryan showed throughout his life: dedication, hard work, consistently surpassing expectations, perseverance, resiliency, and a willingness to help others and give back. The recipient of this award also has a desire to actively participate in and support Ontario events.

We are proud to recognize this year’s 2023 Ryan Victor Griffin award recipient:

Ryan Victor Griffin Award
Tristan Genier