2022 Canadian Track Championships

Riders from all over Canada reunited at the Mattamy National Cycling Centre for the 2022 Canadian Track Championships U17/JR.

Returning as the current World Scratch Race Champion in Junior Men, Carson Mattern was the most dominant rider in the category and won all nine events he attended. The Keirin was the only event he had skipped. In addition to his nine victories, he set a new Canadian record for the Individual Pursuit in less than 0.5 seconds behind the current world record. Team Ontario squad won the Team Pursuit and the Team Sprint.

In the Junior Women, Ontario riders Kiara Lylyk (6) and Vanessa Montrichard (4) divvy the ten titles with Penelope Primo (Quebec), who won two medals. Both Lylyk and Montrichard were part of Team Ontario in Team Pursuit and Team Sprint, which won the competition.

Ashlin Barry once again predominated the U17 boys. He has won seven titles and broke the four-year-old Canadian record in Individual Pursuit by 0.324 seconds. Cole Dempster won the Keirin, Sprint and 500m Time Trial. Team Ontario secured the victory in Team Pursuit and Team Sprint.

The U17 women had the highest density of winners, with four different riders winning individual events. Alexandra Fangeat (Ontario) won three titles, including a thoroughly dominant performance in point races, where she lapped the field twice. Anika Brants won two titles, and Nora Linton won one, breaking the new Canadian record in almost a second. Both Brants and Fangeat were part of Team Ontario, which won the title of Team Pursuit.

Ontario riders dominated the event, taking home more than 70 medals and we are incredibly proud of all 45 riders who competed at the event.  “I am very impressed with how this group truly worked together as a team.” said OC Lead Track Coach, David Jack, “They kept on task and followed the plan with focus and passion. Ontario Cycling extends the congratulations to all the coaches who worked with the athletes throughout the year.